Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-01 - 12:50 p.m.

Well, it�s June. I am sunburned. Very sunburned. Like, worrying-about-skin-cancer-too-late odyssey sunburned. I had a very busy yet nice weekend. I went to the beach Sunday, and yes, I�m still THAT sunburned now that it�s Tuesday. That night, we went over to my friend�s Nikki�s house cuz �her friend, Aaron� and her were down. I felt kinda strange. I got over it though. We hung out with her cousins who were ages 14 and under and her uncle and parents. We sat and talked with the �adults.� Well, we are supposed to be adults, too. I also talked on the phone a little bit Sunday and yesterday to friends I haven�t spoken too in a few months. Susie was one of them. Laurel was the one yesterday. I haven�t talked to her in like over a year. We miss her. We miss each other. We don�t quite know why we don�t keep in touch more often. Same reason Susie and I don�t, I guess. Busy with our own lives? Who knows.

Did I mention that I started on a book called THE LITTLE FRIEND? It�s by author, Donna Tartt. Donna Tartt�s picture is on the back of the book and she scares me. Her photo is dusky around the sides of her, so it looks like one of those old pictures they used to take in saloons of the gangster cowboy guys, only it�s of a woman with a severe bob. Very strange. Well, maybe the bob isn�t that severe. It�s straight and perfect though.

Tonight is school. I am so sunburned. Plus, I started my period today. Duh. What else happened this weekend? Oh, Aaron had my nephew�s Nirvana CD for me to give to him. It�s the one with �Lithium� on it and the floating baby picture on the cover. It�s the stereotypical CD that usually if you have at least heard of Nirvana, then those are the songs you might know. Now, I�m going to sweeten the deal, or rather the birthday present, and get my nephew a Nirvana t-shirt sometime in the next couple weeks, so that I can indeed be the best Aunt ever. So romantick! And I will be the best aunt. Cuz my other sister, not Evan�s mother, gave him like three CDs but they were all CHRISTIAN ROCK and I don�t know how he �feels� about all that. I know Lisa, his mother, takes him to church and he hangs out with the youth group somewhat, but I know that Lisa thinks our Baptist sister, Kim, has gone overboard with the Christianifying her life. I mean, COME ON. Christian EVERYTHING? Puh-leaze! Gag me. I just think that certain things should be an outlet. He likes Blink 182, they�re not that bad. I mean, seriously, come on. One of the Christian �rock� CDs was called--and I think this is the band�s name--�Demon Hunter� and the picture of the band on the cover is them standing in some wicked scarey forest and I thought, �oh, neat-o! DEMONS...� thinking they were along the lines of Black Sabbath, THEN I realized, they are �hunting for demons� and who the hell are these people anyway? WRONG. Christian hardcore rock music is just so bad. They�re all like: �AndIpraiseyouJesus!!!!!! Ooowww, yeah...growl*growl*growl*cuzyoudiedformysinssssssss, yeah.� No, I don�t think so. Leave that growling up to Slayer and whatnot. Cuz if you are praising Jesus enough times per day, then you shouldn�t be growling like the Slayer kids from hell. I just think some things should be separated. Music is an outlet. It is there for you to �let it out� and not feel so bad when you�re sinning somewhat. Saint Kim the Baptist will never understand that.

What else? Oh, I got Jimmy�s hair cut Saturday. He�s so damn cute. I got it cut so he would be cooler for the summer cuz he sweats even in his sleep and my car doesn�t have an air conditioner and whatnot and so instead of looking like Christopher Robin, he looks like a little Marine. He�s soooo cute. It�s still grown out on top. Not crewcuttish or anything...it�s more of a potential lazy spike like Brad Pitt has been known to wear. He�s so damn cute. Jimbo hated it though.

Even my lips are sunburned and my scalp and my eyebrow bones. Stephanie stayed with Grandma yet she even got sunburned cuz she was in the neighbor�s pool. But she�s not as sunburned as her siblings who were stuck at the beach all day, Sunday. Saturday we went to visit Grandma also and had lunch with her at Ruby Tuesday�s. It�s right near her house. It�s amazing. In her own little neighborhood which used to have just the one high school (where I graduated from) and Circle K (plus a couple no-name gas stations) and the firehouse up the road, now they have Publix, Target, Ruby Tuesday, Blockbuster, I think, and some other stores. Oh, yeah, and McDonald�s and Mobil are there too. Craziness. We also had to go to Wal-Mart and the above-mentioned Target. The point of Target was cuz Stephanie, the A student (Chloe doesn�t make letter grades yet) did well on her report card and therefore has passed along to the 3rd grade. My uncle had sent her a Target gift card for $25. She spent all of it plus more that Grandma forked over. Clothes, of course. Nothing black, surprisingly. My mother got Jimmy and Chloe stuff too for �passing� on to their other grades and not being held back. Chloe will be entering first grade and Jimmy will be continuing his speech development pre-K class as a four-year-old. Jimmy also has summer school part of June and July to maintain consistency for his speech and stuff.

And the girls will have field trips out the yin-yang all summer. I wish they were having their field trips with better quality people...i.e., Kids that they got along with and that went to their school, etc. I doubt anyone that goes to their school goes to the same daycare as them. I almost wish during summers like these that I had a teacher�s schedule and had off in the summer to entertain them or tutor them in practice work. Anyway. They will go to a variety of parks, the pool, roller skating, the movie theater, etc. One day they will go to the fire department for some reason. I suppose that sort of thing is interesting to children. I just can�t see any of them behaving on that trip unless they are promised candy or something.

My chest itches where my sunburn is at. You do NOT want to itch a sunburn for those of you who have never had one and have no idea how burning sensations feel, NEVER SCRATCH A SUNBURN.

Tonight we start a new class in our Government Cheese Program. It is Computer Applications or Beginning to Computers or something. I know I�ll be bored. I hate to sound like a hot shot but most of the class has bored me. Such a shame. That reminds me, I need to fill in my test answers that I have finished so far. I am done with three of the tests so far. Tammy and I worked as a team speed-looking-up the answers together in our book. It was fun. It was fun because I�m a nerd.

I can�t believe, still, that we had off yesterday from work. My paycheck is going to be so horrible. Yuck. I�m going to make some type of proposition with Jimbo. Since I can�t find Joel and get money off of him, then I need to do something to oomph my money intake. I don�t want to use the phrase, �I�ll pay you back.� Cuz I can�t do that sort of thing. Maybe if I do a forgiveness program. Like, �give me half of my rent money and I won�t bug you about the last few months of behind-ness you are in as far as child support goes.� Cuz I have hardly any money, hardly any pay to come, and I still owe $225 for my dumb personal loan I took out a couple weeks to pay the electric last week. I hate times like these.

And keeping with the previous paragraph�s theme...I took a break from typing this entry and emailed my trusty person who was supposedly talking to the boss about me going full time. I should have had him talk to her about me getting a raise sometime soon, too. But that will have to be slipped in some other way. He mentioned that he was going to talk to the boss on Monday...Monday as in May 24th, Monday. So, I was seeing how the meeting went on the 24th of May. You know? He had enough time to venture into that and have an answer by now. Fucking slacker. We will see if anything comes of it. I really need to find a job that is worthwhile. I�m sick of having these crises every damn paycheck about my rent being late or insufficient. I didn�t even buy anything this weekend except for gas. It�s ridiculous. I need to seriously take action with myself. I wonder if I could apply with a medical office now since I�m learning how to work in one anyway. I could actually start applying my studies on-the-job. I must be sure to specify that I NEED health insurance and more than ten an hour.

Oh, speaking of Bush�s stupid economy...when we hung out at Nikki�s parents, her dad and uncle are Republicans and her dad is also a racist. I can�t believe he has raised such liberal daughters. Nikki has four sisters and no brothers. All the daughters are beautiful. Nikki, at 27 is the oldest. I can�t remember the name of the youngest, but she is 17. They all seem very bright and liberal. Bria/Breeana/Breena or whatever her name is has shocking hot pink hair. It�s so damn cute on her though. Yeah, so these Republican men were talking about voting for Bush again and his war and anti-abortion crap and I just had to leave the back porch. I went back inside. I couldn�t stand it. I wound up going back out there and spouting a COUPLE of my views but most of the time I just held my hand against my face in shock and embarrassment for these men. Cuz, wouldn�t you know it, JIMBO is mostly Republican. If he wasn�t a felon, he�d vote Republican as well as anti-everything. DUUUUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. I wanted to smack him. See, we never talk politics together cuz we are apparently opposite.

Then we got on a personal level of drinking and driving, my fault, cuz we were talking about how I only drank water while hanging out with them the whole night, and I explained I work at a personal injury law office, etc., and so I don�t usually drink when I go out even if it�s to a bar, cuz I think it would be really bad rapport to become a defendant against my own office with a D.U.I. to boot. Then, I said that I have a shot once in awhile or something or a mixed drink but then I go right back to water, blah, blah, blah. So, then, ramble-on Jimbo said, �You�d be drunk off of one shot if you had drank one tonight.� He then said when I doubted him, that �I�ve known her since she was 13 and I think I�d know if a shot would make you drunk or not.� UH. So, I fought back by saying: �LOOK, PIONEER MAN. I�M NOT YOUR PROPERTY. I THINK I KNOW IF ONE SHOT WOULD MAKE ME DRUNK. IF ONE SHOT DOESN�T GET ME DRUNK IN THE PAST, LOOKING BACK, THEN I DON�T THINK ONE SHOT WOULD HAVE MADE ME DRUNK TONIGHT.� To which the men laughed and laughed and said that I shot him down all at once. Of course, we went on to laugh about it and then he shut up, but still, I mean, SHUT UP ALREADY. I admit to being loyal to my boyfriend and very loving and there are times when he makes the decisions, not all of them, cuz he seems to let me make a lot of decisions. But seriously, I�m not going to be his property in the company of others. I am my own person. At home, he lets me wear the pants, so when we go out, I�m not going to be completely stripped (no pun intended) of my status with him just cuz other men are watching. I may be submissive in bed, but don�t you dare tell me what to do or that it was your idea. I don�t think so. Kmmm.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!