Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-06 - 10:11 p.m.

Everytime I listen to my Fleetwood Mac CD and hear the Don't Stop Thinkin' About Tomorrow song I think of Bill Clinton when he first ran, and the Gores and Clintons onstage with their little yuppie slogan...using Fleetwood Mac as their sponsor. And then I think of sex. Consenting and secret sex. The kind that CNN and NPR shoved in my ears and into my face over and over when Clinton was caught...his only flaw, really, to me. He did everything else right...and who's to say the sex stuff was wrong or inappropriate? I just wish he was President still or one of his President-type friends were. I think my life was better or at least, my OPTIONS were better when Clinton was President.

I took Political Science one time in college...and never went back after the first two classes. Reading the book made me very tired. So, over the years, I managed to learn that a monarchy is a government ruled by a royal hierarchy with the king and queen at the top...(this kind of info. helps you pass a psych. eval.) and that democracy...is another type of government that the U.S. is supposed to be a part of.

So, I get this THING in my child's bookbag. It's from TIME magazine and it's called TIME FOR KIDS--NEWS NOW! It has a big waving picture of Kerry on the front and Bush on the front too, however, he's (Bush) up in the right hand corner and very small... Now, I've spent a lot of time analyzing things cuz I took philosophy and statistics and happen to be poor more often than not, so I've learned to see behind the media and how even though voices come out "neutrally" or say they come out "neutrally" they are always skewed. Like you can tell the sponsors that put on some shows...where am I going with this? I took a melatonin...anyway...see, the newspaper SAYS they are neutrally...that they are giving out information in an unskewed manner for the public to use at their own discretion. BUT. They stress certain words and only certain headlines are written certain ways...the bashing is always there.

Oh, so, I'm looking at the cover of this TIME for kids...and Kerry is waving...or could it be perceived as an open handed salute...which translates to a SURRENDER. Then, Bush's face up there in the corner...he's peering down...like he always does. He's just the little bratty bully on the playground trying to kick sand in your eyes really. But, anyway, is he playing God up there in the corner of the page? Peering down on his only begotten son? Kmmm, okay, that makes no sense. So, why did they give Bush such a small spot on the page and Kerry every other piece of the page? Is the people of TIME favoring Kerry?

I personally don't know who to favor...cuz my best friend hasn't told me who I should favor yet. Haha. Where's Ralph Nader when you need him? So, inside...it says: "GEORGE W. BUSH, In 2000, George W. Bush was elected President. He wants to stay in office. Mr. Bush wants kids to learn. He wants schools to give more tests. Mr. Bush led a war in Iraq. Now he sends troops and money to help the country. George W. Bush is from Texas. It is in the southern United States." THEN, it says: "JOHN KERRY, On March 2, many states picked Senator John Kerry to run against Mr. Bush. Mr. Kerry wants to create more jobs. He says many workers should be paid more money. Mr. Kerry says there is too much pollution. He wants to keep water and air clean. John Kerry is from Massachussetts. It is in the northeastern United States."

So...I look at that ass matter and think that this is mini-media for kids...found in their backpacks. This is most definitely skewed...cuz they put right in there, that Bad Bush wants schools to give more tests. So, naturally, all the little kids that bother to read this are going to tell their parents to please not vote for Bad Bushhead. "He wants to make us suffer, mommy!!" And now, over there on that other page, Kerry "wants to create more jobs...says many workers should be paid more money..." Well...any school kid with a working parent or two overhears them complain about money or expenditures any given day...so, naturally, that same kid will say, "mommy, I don't want more tests, and YOU want more money and a good job, so, vote for Kerry not Bush." And there you have it folks, skewed. BUT IN A GOOD WAY.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!