Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-06-28 - 15:46:35

Well, I had a bad day yesterday. It started out okay. See, I am a stay-at-home mom and I run errands and things after I send my boyfriend off to work. The kids and I got all of our grocery shopping done. This is a great feat to do while the kids are with you. Anyway, enough of that crap...we get home and eat and get ready to go to Grandma's cuz Grandma has a broken foot and won't be able to visit us freely for quite awhile. On our way over to Grandma's, we cross a bridge. This bridge had a tiny little kitten clinging to the side of the wall. I felt compelled to save it. My friend has been thinking of getting a cat somehow and this one fit her description. I stopped the car and ran back to where it was. I shouldn't really run, you see, I'm eight months pregnant. So, I get to the cat and she/he's about like 5 or 6 inches long. It's little, okay. It's probably only like 6 weeks old. Well, I reach down and tell the kitty it's going to be okay, and the poor little frightened thing turns around and hisses the bloody daylights at me. There was a series of cars going by and I could still hear the thing hissing with fright. I was like, "oh, damn. Um, okay, I need to get you out of here." And that's when she took off running in the opposite direction of me and my car. I ran after it (again, eight months pregnant, not easy, not a pretty picture) and started having contractions. So, I had to go back to my car, pay the toll ($1.00) both ways to turn around and go back on the fucking bridge to save this lunatic kitten. When I passed by our meeting spot, it was gone. Hopefully it climbed the wall and got over and has a home now. The WCS (worst case scenario) is that it kamikaze-ed itself into oncoming traffic and is now plastered to someone's underside of their engine. Not pretty. But, the little thing had a death wish. I never saw it again and had to pay my third dollar to finally cross the bridge to finally make it to Grandma's (that's my mom by the way). So, I went shopping for her, it downpoured. It's the rainy season here by the way. I dropped off her groceries and my boyfriend who is a carpenter had called to tell me he had almost died by falling off the two-story roof, but had gotten caught by his tool pouch and was able with the last of his strength to pull himself back onto the roof and administer first aid to his gashed open leg. It was now raining on his job site, so would I please come home and use the only key to let him in the house. Well, I was still running errands and needed to drop off paperwork for my lame-ass health insurance, so, after finally being on my way home, I figured he'd be hungry after being stuck on the back porch much longer than he needed to be, I would dig around for some change in the piggy bank I had with me in the car and buy him some fast food...digging, searching, counting, three dollars, four, five dollars...CRASH. Oops (Opops), I was supposed to be driving, too. I rammed into someone who was stopped at a green light. It was rainy and muggy and thank God for steel balls used for trailer hitches, cuz, I crashed into one of those and their bumper was JUST FINE. My front bumper however was dented AGAIN. But, I didn't care, I was so happy that nothing happened to their minivan or them, and they didn't see any point in getting any of my information. Yay! So, I finally made it home to my wounded boyfriend who had finally found his way in through a 1' x 2' window and had sustained himself by eating a bag of popcorn (I'm the one who cooks). I then crawled over to the couch and laid there for about 9 hours hoping that the contractions would go away. They did. I need an assistant. I can't be doing these things in such a fragile condition as I am in. Sigh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!